Posts Tagged ‘the after’

TVWise: New Details Emerge On GVTV’s ‘The After’ From ‘X-Files’ Creator Chris Carter

May-26-2013
New Details Emerge On GVTV’s ‘The After’ From ‘X-Files’ Creator Chris Carter
TVWise
Patrick Munn

[Original article here]

New details have emerged on Georgeville Television’s drama series The After, which hails from The X-Files creator Chris Carter.

When the project was announced last October, GVTV offered only a vague description for the series which described the series as “a thriller that tells the story of an unexplained event and features elements of science-fiction, suspense, action and paranoia.” The series doesn’t yet have a broadcaster attached with GVTV and distributor Sierra/Engine targeting the series for either cable or a broadcast run of 13 episodes. That said, however, Sierra/Engine Television shopped the series to international buyers at MIPCOM 2012 and the more recent MIPTV 2013.

According to a number of potential buyers who heard the pitch for the series, The After is in fact a thriller set in Los Angeles which explores the coming apocalypse. I hear that the drama begins after a strange event strikes the Earth. There is no government statement on this event and it is shrouded in secrecy and will ultimately lead to a far greater cataclysmic event. The series will follow a core group of characters who try to discover just what has happened and why, while also doing what they must to survive. One source described it as a combination of The X-Files and Falling Skies. “It’s a mystery series set right at the end of the world”, one source tells me. I also understand that, as one would expect with a genre show such as this, The After will be largely serialised and utilise season long story arcs.

The Hollywood Reporter: MIPCOM 2012: ‘X-Files’ Creator Chris Carter Shopping New Supernatural Drama

Oct-04-2012
MIPCOM 2012: ‘X-Files’ Creator Chris Carter Shopping New Supernatural Drama
The Hollywood Reporter
Michael O’Connell

[Original article here]

The sci-fi scribe, joining distributor Georgeville TV, will present “The After” to buyers next week.

carter_a

Chris Carter‘s new distribution pact with Georgeville TV will present its first pitch to buyers at Mipcom next week.

The X-Files creator and the independent studio are set to start work on The After, a supernatural drama penned by Carter.

“Chris has woven his mythology magic within a very human, grounded story about the moment when we realize all of our worst fears about the world and its future,” Georgeville CEO Marc Rosen said of the announcement. Sierra/Engine Television will be shopping the project at the TV market.

Carter, who tried to get another thriller off the ground at last year’s Mipcom with Media Rights Capital, has not had a television series since X-Files. The 20th Century Fox Television drama preceded and outlived his other TV efforts, Millennium, Harsh Realm and The Lone Gunman.

This new series follows the aftermath of a mysterious event and will incorporate both supernatural and suspense elements that run through most of Carter’s work.

Georgeville is currently producing Crossbones, NBC’s midseason entry based on the legendary pirate Blackbeard. Coming from Luthor creator Neil Cross, the adaptation of Colin Woodard‘s book The Republic of Pirates was given a straight-to-series order in May.

Deadline: Chris Carter To Do Thriller Drama Series For Georgeville Television

Oct-04-2012
Chris Carter To Do Thriller Drama Series For Georgeville Television
Deadline
Nellie Adreeva

[Original article here]

carter__120109014423

Independent TV studio, Georgeville Television has teamed up with The X-Files creator Chris Carter to finance a new drama series. Entitled The After, the series will debut at next week’s MIPCOM TV market where it will be shopped by newly formed Sierra/Engine Television.

Written by Carter, The After is a thriller which revolves around a mysterious, unexplained event. In the vein of The X Files, The After incorporates elements of science fiction, suspense, and real-world fear and paranoia. “Chris has woven his mythology magic within a very human, grounded story about the moment when we realize all of our worst fears about the world and its future,” said Georgeville CEO Marc Rosen, who co-founded the company earlier this year with Leon Clarance of Motion Picture Capital, the financing arm of Reliance Entertainment.

In addition to The After, GVTV is also financing a remake of the cult UK sci-fi series Blake’s 7 with feature director Martin Campbell (Casino Royale) for Syfy, Hunters, a pandemic thriller drama from Overbrook Entertainment and Babylon 5 creator J. Michael Straczynski at ABC as well Sense8, a supernatural series from the Wachowskis (The Matrix) and Straczynski. Sierra/Engine is handling the international distribution for GVTV’s projects, which also include Neil Cross’ midseason NBC pirate drama Crossbones. Carter has been looking at non-traditional TV development/production for his return to television after The X Files. Last year, he teamed with MRC for female-drive thriller Unique, which didn’t get set up at a network. Carter and Georgeville are with CAA.